April 7, 2014

Research Policy: New Editorial Board

The leading journal of innovation studies, Research Policy, has announced perhaps the large change in years to its editorial board. This includes four new editors, four appointments to a new category of associate editor, and 41 new advisory editors. (The RP website has the former changes, but does not yet have the latter two categories of changes).

For open innovation researchers, a new editor (Keld Laursen) and associate editor (Joel West) are associated with open innovation, while Henry Chesbrough continues as an advisory editor.

New Editors

Research Policy is unusual in that it lacks a single editor, but instead is run by 11 nominally equal editors. Authors submit to one of these editors, who then assign reviewers and make the editorial decision.

Although there are 11 editors, 40% 35% of the 800-900 manuscripts come to the three editors at SPRU at the University of Sussex. The journal’s informal lead editor (Ben Martin) and its editorial assistant (“managing editor” at other journals) are found at the same institute where RP was founded 40 years ago by Chris Freeman and others.

Here is the new lineup of 11 editors:
  • Ashish Arora: Duke University (USA)
  • Maryann Feldman: UNC Chapel Hill (USA)
  • Martin Kenney: UC Davis (USA)
  • Stefan Kuhlmann: University of Twente (Netherlands)
  • Keld Laursen: Copenhagen Business School (Denmark)
  • Kenneth Lee: Seoul National University (Korea)
  • Ben Martin: SPRU, University of Sussex (UK)
  • Kazuyuki Motohashi: Tokyo University (Japan)
  • Paul Nightingale: SPRU, University of Sussex (UK)
  • Ed Steinmueller: SPRU, University of Sussex (UK)
  • Marie Thursby: Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
Four of these are new editors who took office earlier this year:
  • Laursen and Motohashi were promoted from the Advisory Board;
  • Nightingale was previously book editor (a position that appears to be vacant); and
  • Feldman became an editor directly.
In 2013, Thursby was promoted from the advisory board. Meanwhile, two of last year's editors stepped down to become Advisory Editors.

Associate Editors

To deal with the increasing number of submissions, RP editors have also created a new position of Associate Editor, and appointed four people to this new position:
The editors will delegate a subset of their manuscripts to one of the associate editors in his/her area of expertise. The AE will pick reviewers and make editorial decisions based on reviewer recommendations.

Additional associate editors are expected to be named in coming years.

Advisory Editors

RP continues its system of Advisory Editors, who (as at many journals) commit to providing regular reviews. In the current update, RP has appointed 41 new Advisory Editors:

  • Kazuhiro Asakawa: Keio University (Japan)
  • Thomas Astebro: HEC Paris (France)
  • Suma Athreye: Brunel University (UK)
  • Janet Bercovitz: University of Illinois (USA)
  • Stefano Breschi: Bocconi University (Italy)
  • Steve Casper: Keck Graduate Institute (USA)
  • Elizabeth Corley: Arizona State University (USA)
  • Pablo D'Este: Polytechnic University of Valencia (Spain)
  • Gabriela Dutrenit: Autonomous University of Mexico (Mexico)
  • Kira Fabrizio: Boston University (USA)
  • Koen Frenken: Eindhoven University of Technology (Netherlands)
  • Erica Fuchs: Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
  • Jeffrey Funk: National University of Singapore (Singapore)
  • Jeff Furman: Boston University (USA)
  • Michelle Gittelman: Rutgers University (USA)
  • Shane Greenstein: Kellogg School, Northwestern University (USA)
  • Rosa Grimaldi: University of Bologna (Italy)
  • Karin Hoisl: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (Germany)
  • Mei-Chih Hu: National Tsing Hua University (Taiwan)
  • Julia Lane: American Institutes for Research (USA)
  • Sungjoo Lee: Ajou University (Korea)
  • Aija Leiponen: Cornell & Imperial College London (USA/UK)
  • Kwanghui Lim: Melbourne Business School (Australia)
  • Francesco Lissoni: University of Brescia (Italy)
  • Xiaohui Liu: Loughborough University (UK)
  • Xielin Liu: University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
  • Vincent Mangematin: Grenoble Ecole de Management (France)
  • Myriam Mariani: Bocconi University (Italy)
  • Matt Marx: Massachusetts Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Gregory Nemet: University of Wisconsin (USA)
  • Walter G. Park: American University (USA)
  • Andrea Prencipe: LUISS Rome (Italy)
  • Bhaven N. Sampat: Columbia University (USA)
  • Henry Sauermann: Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Maria Savona: SPRU, University of Sussex (UK)
  • Laurel Smith-Doerr: Boston University (USA)
  • Bruce Tether: Manchester University (UK)
  • Bernhard Truffer: Eawag (Switzerland)
  • Bruno van Pottelsberghe: Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management (Belgium)
  • Reinhilde Veugelers: KU Leuven (Belgium)
  • Richard C.M. Yam: City University of Hong Kong (Hong Kong)
The Advisory Board includes 41 new to the board, 41 Advisory Editors continuing from last year, and two former Editors who are now Advisory Editors.


With Laursen, West and (of course) Chesbrough on the editorial board, the opportunities for publishing OI research in Research Policy seem better than ever. Meanwhile, Eric von Hippel and two of his regular co-authors (Dietmar Harhoff and Joachim Henkel) remain on the Advisory Board to review user innovation manuscripts.

I'm also proud to note that one of the 41 new advisory editors is my colleague and boss, Steve Casper (interim dean at KGI). He is an oft-cited scholar on topics such as biotech spinoffs and high-tech clusters. This means that 50% of the business faculty of KGI are on the RP editorial board, which I think is an unusual ratio for RP (or any journal). In fact, a third faculty member, Jay Chok, has also published in Research Policy, bringing our RP publication rate up to 75%.

By comparison, SPRU has 6 editorial board members (3 editors, 1 associate editor and 2 advisory editors) out of 49 faculty (or 28 if you only count the lecturers, senior lecturers and professors). After SPRU, the next largest concentrations of RP editorial board members are
  • Five: Bocconi
  • Four: Berkeley and MIT
  • Three: Georgia Tech and Toronto
  • Two: Boston U., Colombia, Duke, Harvard, KGI, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, NUS
Congratulations to the new RP editorial board members. We all look forward to helping support innovation studies and one of its leading outlets.

No comments: